Bowling Green Times

Follow Us On:

4-H swine show – Youth Sale results

Posted on Tuesday, September 3, 2013 at 1:49 pm

The Swine Show brought many observers to the livestock barn on Wednesday, July 24.

The following is a list of winners and trophy donors:  Champion Duroc Boar, Kara Meyer; Reserve Champion Duroc Boar, Kelsey Scherder; Champion Crossbred Boar, Jessica Cottrell; Reserve Champion Crossbred Boar, John Cottrell; Grand Champion Boar, Jessica Cottrell, Bobby & Mary Lou Dempsey; and Reserve Grand Champion Boar, Kara Meyer.  Champion Berkshire Gilt, Brett Waddell; Reserve Champion Berkshire Gilt, John Cottrell; Champion Chester White Gilt, Brett Waddell; Reserve Champion Chester White Gilt, Ashlee Waddell;  Champion Duroc Gilt, Kelsey Scherder; Reserve Champion Duroc Gilt, Kara Meyer;  Champion Yorkshire Gilt, Colton Wilson;  Reserve Champion Yorkshire Gilt, Jessica Cottrell; Champion Crossbred Gilt, Austin Bailey, Reserve Champion Crossbred Gilt, Micah Bailey; Grand Champion Gilt, Austin Bailey, Chris & Debbie Niemeyer; and Reserve Grand Champion Gilt, Kelsey Scherder.

In the Barrow Show, Callie Bailey exhibited the Champion Open Barrow and her trophy donor was Crop Production Services.  Reserve Champion Open Barrow was exhibited by Gabi Deters.  Champion Home Raised Barrow was exhibited by Gabi Deters and the trophy donor was John Kallash Auction Service.  Reserve Champion Home Raised Barrow was shown by Mason Street.  Grand Champion Barrow was awarded to Gabi Deters.  Pike County Farm Bureau sponsored the trophy. The Reserve Grand Champion Barrow was shown by Callie Bailey.  Frankford Farm Supply sponsored the trophy.  Champion Performance Barrow was shown by Kara Meyer and her trophy was sponsored by Fisher Hog Farm.  Raymond Bird showed the Reserve Champion Performance Barrow.

Showmanship winners for the Swine Show were Gavin Deters, junior division; Elise Bailey, intermediate division; and Austin Bailey, senior division.  Trophy sponsors were Calvert’s Insurance; Eastern Missouri Commission Company and Eolia Fertilizer.  The winners were also presented spray docs and a brush sponsored by Wild Creations. The Herdsman Award was presented to Kimberly Niemeyer, Feeder’s Grain sponsored the trophy chair.