Bowling Green Times

Follow Us On:

Bobcats host Fall Athletic Awards Ceremony

Posted on Tuesday, November 20, 2012 at 3:55 pm

Bowling Green’s high school athletes were honored this past Wednesday at the Fall Athletic Award Ceremony.

School officials, booster club members, families and friends all gathered in the high school gym for the occasion.

The banquet began at 6:30 p.m. in the high school gym. Cross country head coach Matt  Chance served as the Master of Ceremonies. As the ceremony began, each head coach from the softball, volleyball, cross country and football teams introduced their players and presented some of the high-ranking awards.

Volleyball coach Erin VanDyke presented the volleyball team award. Darby Edmond was chosen for the sportsmanship award.

Coach VanDyke also presented some team awards in their session.  Kylie Storts received the serving award for highest serving percentage.  Megan Hakenwerth was given the defense awards for highest passing efficiency rate.  Kaycee Sutton received the coach award.  Kaitlyn Niemeyer was awarded as most improved.

Coach Chance then began the cross country team awards. Philip Lagemann, David Goddards, Logan Leffeler, Dereck Turnage, Kylie Conrow, Emily Schuckenbrock, Chloe Hays, Sierra St. Aubyn, Teagan Teasley and Amber Berg were all awarded all conference certificates.

MVP awards went to Kylie Conrow, Philip Lagemann, and David Goddard. Most improved was awarded to Chloe Hays and Caitlin McClain. The newcomer awards were given to Teagan Teasley, Sierra St. Aubyn, Dakken Morris, and Alex Roy. Captains awards went to Emily Schuckenbrock, Caitlin McClain, Amber Berg, Arianna Vazquez, Clary Bibb, Dereck Turnage, Skylar Durham, Brian Moore, Logan Leffeler, and David Goddard. The Ean West Bobcat Award was given to Emily Schuckenbrock and Brian Moore.

Head softball coach Dean Streed followed with the his team’s awards. Emily Martin was chosen for the sportsmanship award.

Coach Streed also awarded Kelsey Horner with first team all conference, first team all district, and second team all region. Kelsey Scherder received first team all conference, and second team all district. Michala Schroeder was awarded second team all conference and second team all district. Madison Ingram received second team all conference and second team all district. Breanna Bixby got second team all conference.

To close the group awards session, came head football coach Jeff Gschwender. He presented the following awards for all conference: Corey Brown:  first team cornerback, first team offensive end, second team place kicker, second team punter; James Burleson: first team linebacker, second team running back; Malik McPike: first team running back; Delias Grimmett:  second team offensive end; Cameron Shinn: second team offensive line; Nick Stumbaugh: second team defensive end.

All conference and all district award winners will also be nominated for all state awards.

The Danny Feldman sportsmanship award was given to Jed Niemeyer.

Teams were asked to divide into their given locations, softball in the middle school commons, cross country to the auditorium, volleyball to the high school commons, and football to stay in the gym, and individual team awards were given.



See pictures in this week’s Times and our online photo gallery.

Social Media Posts from Local Businesses