Bowling Green Times

Follow Us On:

Clarksville Post Plan For 36 Year Celebration

Posted on Tuesday, July 31, 2018 at 3:30 pm

The Clarksville Memorial VFW Post and Auxiliary are making plans for a 36 year celebration on Saturday, August 18, at 6:00 p.m.
The Post was instituted on August 11, 1982 and the Auxiliary was instituted on August 15, 1982.
David and Gracie Wyatt were instrumental in getting 25 members to be able to start the Post and Auxiliary. The late David Wyatt was the first Commander and The late Janet Church was the first Auxiliary President.
The Post was purchased from Susan Biggs who was also a member of the Auxiliary.
The Post has had numerous Commanders and Presidents, including; David Wyatt, Aaron Church, Glenn Edwards Michael Scoggins, Clark Betts, Donald Watts, Freddy Pitzer, Jay Thomas, David Wright, Hurley Conway, Kevin Tarpein and now serving Herbert Everett.
The Auxiliary Presidents include: Janet Church, Leta Ralph, Janet Lockwood, Donna Woodson, Gracie Wyatt, Joanne Hammuck, Gloria Webb, Janice Watts, Helen Riffle,Linda Gollaher, Kendra Shaffer and now serving Mary Tarpein.
They had a Junior Girls Unit for many years until National VFW decided not to have any longer, the unit received many awards at their convention and had four Department Presidents and several Department Officers when it was disbanded. Samatha Chatman was the Department President.
They now have a Youth Group that is very active in all activities that are held.
The Post, Auxiliary and Youth Group is very active in the community, participating in parades, community service work, Americanism projects, etc.
They took part in the 200 years Bicentennial celebrations in Clarksville and Louisiana, Elsberry July 4th celebrations.
The post is now looking forward to the Paynesville Homecoming, Bowling Green Heritage Days, Elsberry Volleyball celebrations, Clarksville Applefest, and Louisiana Colorfest.
They have been very blessed to be able to serve the Community for 36 years.
Commander Herbert Everett serves as Service Officer and POW-MIA chairman for District 17, Auxiliary President Mary Tarpein serves as Jr. Vice-President, Musician, and Hospital Chairman, Michael Everett serves as Conductor and Trustee, for Auxiliary and Joanne Hammuck as Youth Chairman for the District 17 also.
They would like to have any family member of the Commanders or Presidents to try and attend this great celebration.
If you plan to attend please contact Herbert Everett at 573-754-3436, Mary Tarpein at 573-795-3584 or Joanne Hammuck at 573-847-2266
Everyone is welcome to come and make this a great celebration. Refreshments will be served.

Social Media Posts from Local Businesses