Bowling Green Times

Follow Us On:

MU Extension County Council opens elections

Posted on Tuesday, January 22, 2013 at 3:34 pm

The 2013 public election of new members for the University of Missouri Extension County Council for Pike County will be held Jan. 21 through 28.

Missouri state statues (Chapter 262.550-262.620 R.S. Mo. 1969) create county extension councils to work with local University of Missouri Extension staff members.  The publicly elected (and appointed) council members assist in planning and carrying out extension programs in their county, providing local extension governance and representing the diversity of the county’s changing population.

Candidates running for elected positions include: Sarah Benson, Marion Branstetter, Faith Carr, Jeff Chapuis, Sara Dean, Mary Dockery, Scott Jackson, Dan Jones, Don Nacke, Kaleb Nunan, and Cheryl Shaw.  These individuals are all from District I which includes the townships of Salt River, Peno and Buffalo.  Candidates running for election for elected positions in District III include:  Mike Christensen, Holly Mabry, Lucretia Steinhage, and Kathy Yates.  The townships included in this district are:  Calumet and Prairieville.

Any person aged 18 or older who resides in Pike County may cast one ballot for up to six candidates in District I and two candidates in District III.  Voters have the opportunity to vote one of two ways.  Voting will be available at the University of Missouri Extension Office at 115 W. Main, Bowling Green, during regular business hours (8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday).  Pike County voters will also have the opportunity to vote on-line.  Voters may go to the web site at and follow the election links to bring up a ballot and vote.  Please support your favorite candidate by voting.

Responsibilities of the council include attending monthly meetings, identify concerns of the community to connect citizens with Extension resources, administer the county budget for Extension and assist in planning, promoting, and carrying out Extension efforts.

Current members of the council include:  Angie Waddell, Elaine Niemeyer, Marion Branstetter, Stephanie Meyer, Jeff Chapuis, Don Nacke, Frank Schwendemann, Tammy Shireman, Scott Jackson, Bob Noellsch, Andrea Ankrom, David Ash, Sharon Bruns, Mary Martin, Mike Christensen, Pat Vallar and Lucretia Steinhage.  Feel free to contact any of these members for information about the local election process or contact the extension office at      573-324-5464.

University of Missouri Extension improves people’s lives with educational programs and  access to University resources and experts to enhance economic viability; build strong individuals, families and communities; and create and sustain healthy environments. In Pike County, extension programs address such high-priority areas as agriculture, nutrition and health, parenting and youth development, family life, consumer education, business and workforce, community development and continuing education.